In the commercial world today, the vast majority of people participate in combat classes just for modern trend’s sake.  Perhaps for a picture to post on social media, perhaps for fitness reasons or perhaps, to let some steam off on the good old heavy bag.

Their views on martial arts are quite certain – it’s a violent sport.  

On the contrary, for Christopher Collins, repetitive practice and sweat grueling training sessions are his therapies for life.  His journey to find peace.

Raised in Florida, Chris lived in a small town where there was nothing much to do. This led to a lot of boredom which occasionally bred into anger and frustrations for a young boy.  

Often, Chris’ father would punish him with the drive of silence to the nearby beach.  Upon arriving, he would then demand Chris to run three miles back home.  Chris would speak to the ocean and sometimes swim instead.  

At other times, Chris would be given a shovel and told to dig a big hole in the ground, just to do so, so he could immediately fill it back up.  

These constructive exercises taught Chris a great deal on how to vent his negative feelings into positive ones.

His father later made Chris start boxing at the tender age of five as he opined that it was good way to build character.  He picked up wrestling and Jiujitsu in his teens.  He later competed in several boxing competitions and finished with an undefeated record of 13-0.  During university, Chris also played on the school football team, but he aspired for something greater and eventually dropped out from school to join the United States Marines.

Whilst in the marines, he continued to fight in full contact tournaments in order to prove to himself that he could (mission accomplished), but because of the poor pay and his duties at work, he stopped.  

One day, Chris met an old man who practiced Wing Chun in a park near his base.  Chris was very impressed by his skill and became profoundly interested the old Chinese Martial Art.  

After a long planning process, Chris ended up in Hong Kong studying Wing Chun at Leung Ting Wing Tsun Association.  Days quickly became weeks, weeks became months and months became years.  

cc2

After ten years in Hong Kong, Chris felt like it was time to switch his focus on to weapons, and thus carried on to learn Pekiti Tirsia Kali, where he spent several years wielding blades.

Chris also became interested in the film industry and played as a stunts man several times.  

Due to a culmination of many different factors in his training and work, a few years ago, Chris underwent a shoulder surgery and yet another spinal fusion surgery which sidelined him.  He turned back to BJJ for his dose of rehab.  Whilst he was training, he met Clark Gracie who provided great insights to Chris’ BJJ game.

In 1998, Chris first started teaching his arts.  And in 2011, Chris opened his first gym in Hong Kong teaching Wing Chun, Pekiti-Tirsia, Boxing, Brazilian JiuJitsu as well as film choreography.

You will now find Chris in his new gym, Chris Collins Action Plus in Sheung Wan.

cc3

TAKEAWAY QUESTIONS:

FightlifeHK: Has Martial Arts impacted your study life or working life in any way?

Chris: “I think the study of martial arts is so much more than fighting.  It’s given that you will of course learn to defend yourself, but to me, its really about preparation, whether you are training for a big game, a big mission or a big fight.”

“Once you have done all you could have possibly done, all the hard training involving blood, sweat and tears, you can finally sit quietly in peace and wait for the storm.”

“The same applies to our body, mind and spirit to and to whatever unpredictable challenges we are faced with in life.  We learn to become problem solvers.“

“It absolutely made me a better Marine and of course a better person.  It taught me to understand the learning process. It is said, once you understand this… you can learn anything.”

 

FightlifeHK: With such a busy teaching schedule, how often do you train?  Why do you enjoy training so much?

Chris: “I train 6 days a week. I always organize training sessions with my friends throughout the week.  I also make sure I spar with my students every class.  So you could say I get my fair share of training on a daily basis.”

“I train because I feel that if we don’t have a way to vent our emotions, then we become a massive ticking time bomb.  Martial arts to me, is the best method of physical and mental therapy to cope with life… simply because the problems are right there in front of you, looking back at you.  You can feel the problem and if you don’t deal with it, it gets worse.”

“I feel so much peace when I train in martial arts.  It’s kind of funny, because I don’t feel at ease if I don’t train.  It’s my form of therapy for life.  It’s a constant chess match where you try to see every move, every pattern, find clarity within chaos.  It’s an amazing feeling.”

cc4

FightlifeHK: Do you try to train your mentality as well?  Are there any exercises you do or recommend to the reader?

Chris: “I think the best thing we can do for ourselves mentally is have a little quiet time.  Moments in each day where you shut yourself off from the rest of the world and you can clear your mind, gather your thoughts, make sense of certain issues without trying to think of them.  Just sitting in the moment.  I am fortunate to have my gym to do this.  When it is empty, I shut the lights off and just sit there in the moment, at peace.”

 

FightlifeHK: How do you set your goals?

Chris: “I visualize them.  I simplify everything into an action void of emotions or feelings.  Then I prioritize each of the actions I need to make.  The most important thing is to remember is that when I set out on this plan or goal, I was of a sound mind. I was in a perfect mental condition to make logical choices and decisions.  Never change your mind based on convenience.  Stick to the plan. It was a good plan.”

FightlifeHK: What is your philosophy towards your art?

Chris: “I strive to be a martial artist is 365 days a year.  We have a saying in the Marines, “It’s easier to keep up, than catch up.”  Whilst some people like to rest when they are not preparing for something, the Marines are always ready or at least 90% ready.  Constant training at a moderate intensity allows you to train all year round with only a small adjustment to be at 100% in a short period of time.  I have always preferred that method.  So, for me, I never allow myself to stop.”

“I don’t work harder to make more money, I don’t work harder to buy more things.  I just work harder to be a little better each time.”

“I also like to keep it simple and always train as if your opponent is stronger, faster and better than you. You must be smarter.”

 

FightlifeHK: In you view, which is the most important aspect of martial arts?

Chris: “You learn to be calm…being calm is so important in making decisions choices in life.  Think about how many choices you make every day, every hour, every minute.  If you are not calm, you will most likely make an irrational decision.”

 

FightlifeHK: How do you motivate others (students / teammates)?

Chris: “By taking part. I do everything they do. We have a saying at the gym. NO EASY DAY.”  It means, you should always be pushing yourself to be better.  Be better than who you were yesterday.”

 

FightlifeHK: You also do film choreography and have a long list of movies you have participated in.  Do you think viewers can learn anything from such clips, or are all clips merely fun?  How do you try to balance reality and selling action?  What’s fun or challenging about making brilliant clips?

Chris: “I love film and as an actor and choreographer, I like to showcase martial arts in action films.  It’s not easy, you have to be very open to the actors, to the camera and to the style of shooting.  I like that you have to have an open mind because you are able to learn more from others.  You have to adapt your true movement in order to make it look more exciting on camera.  It’s more difficult than teaching or fighting for sure.”

“That’s the trick, for me anyways. To find a perfect balance between making it look amazing and making it look real.  The whole experience is just so much fun.  To be able to create it and control the entire process and outcome is surreal.”

FightlifeHK: What would you like your legacy to be?

Chris: “To have my students carry on what I have started and remember me when they do it by passing it on to their students.  To know that I influenced others to take up training, train hard and chase their dreams.  Improve their lives by inspiring positivity in their lives with rock solid martial arts skills.  That I was just an ordinary guy with belief in myself.  I tell my students, “The hardest opponent to defeat (in life) is the opponent that never gives up.””

 

FightlifeHK: Do you have an idol who has inspired you in your life and why?  How can we all learn from him?  Any quotes?

Chris: “My idol is my son.  He inspires me every day of my life.  I love everything about him.  We can learn from children, because they are so pure and honest.  We should be like that.  His quote right now is, “ Bum. Bum. Buuuuuuuum””

 

In connection with the grand opening of Chris Collins Action Plus, FightlifeHK readers can now simply present the code “CCAPFLHK” to enjoy an offer of Buy 3 months get 1 free at his gym!*

*while offer lasts.  Terms & Conditions apply. 

cc1